Home Page

Thorpe Lea Primary School

'A dedicated community working together, nurturing a safe, happy school where all children can achieve their potential'

Meet the Governors

Welcome to our governors' section.



Name: Mr Michael (Mike) Davis - Chair of Governors

Occupation: Retired

Background: I have lived in the Egham/Englefield Green area for over forty years most of them working for IBM selling and installing computer systems. I became a governor at Thorpe Lea in 2000 prior to my retirement in 2001. I was mainly involved with the Financial Management of school and was Vice-Chairman from 2003. I took over as Chair of Governors in November 2012 and am now focussing, with the Headteacher and her leadership team, on improving outcomes for all our pupils.

Name: Mr Anthony Jorge

Occupation: IT Specialist

Role: Governor

Background:I became a governor back in 2012 to support the school and help with improvement in the school and provide my knowledge and assistance in IT which has become an ever increasing need for our local school. I have found being a governor a very rewarding responsibility and great that I can give something back to the community and strongly believe in giving the children the best possible opportunities for learning. I'm happy to give my help and support to the school to achieve this. I am an IT consultant with over 15 years in the education sector

Name: Mr Chris Haxell

Occupation: Deputy Headteacher
Role: Staff Governor

Background: I joined Thorpe Lea Primary School in November 2012 having spend my previous eight years teaching in a junior school in East Molesey. Before joining Thorpe Lea I was able to fulfill a once in a lifetime opportunity of being a technical official for the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games. The enthusiasm towards pupil learning drew me towards Thorpe Lea and I am delighted to be able to contribute and play a part in the schools journey.

Name: Matthew Pullar


Role: Parent Governor

Background:- My background is IT service delivery and IT project management. I currently work in the NHS. I joined the team of Governors in September 2014 in order to become more involved and to try to help what I see as an improving school. I hope to be able to help the school on this journey of improvement in order to bring about the best possible outcomes for all pupils. I believe that a child’s early years are the most important in their school life and I hope to be able to ensure that the pupils that Thorpe Lea produces are as well developed with as well rounded an education as possible.

Name: Dr Ramesh Kapadia

Role: Governor

Background - I have worked in education all my life, I started as a teacher and then undertook curriculum development work before lecturing to teachers and trainee teachers in London.  I went on to become a school inspector then became an educational consultant after retiring. I have an extensive range of educational skills.  I have been a governor in Harrow and developed further expertise. I live in Surrey and would like to contribute towards supporting and improving schools. Though I do have some work as an education consultant, I also have the time to devote this important and challenging role.




Name: Debbie Lomax

Role: Parent Governor

Background: I have two children at Thorpe Lea, one in year 6 and one in year 2, We transferred to this school three years ago and I have just joined the team of Governors in September 2016. I believe Thorpe Lea school is on an exciting improvement journey and look forward to being a part of it and helping to ensure our children get the best start to their education as possible.